Grrls Rock!!

Meg White Illo for Girls Rock RI

Some of my friends Jeanette and Jen volunteer their time with Girls Rock Rhode Island. Its a great cause and seems to have really gained some momentum over the last couple years. I always dig seeing their posters in the spring. Nice stuff.

This year their doing a special sort of fund raiser and they asked if I had time to contribute an illo to the cause. I started out thinking I would actually do it in analog, but soon decided that it would be better with a graphical motif (which is oh so much easier in Photoshop).

Its not often that I get to choose my subject matter, so this was pretty fun. I chose Meg White as the subject. She’s a helluva drummer and just the sort of role model that you can get behind. I just wish they were still putting out albums.

Anyway, check out the illo and keep an eye out for a collection of rock-themed works from local RI artists to be published this holiday season. I’ll try to update as I hear more details. I’m sure I’ll buy a couple for the kids and their cousins.

You can check it out here.

